Back to the San Jose Sharks Newsfeed

Drew Remenda on the Sharks: Bad call can’t tarnish the unbelievable comeback

Even before Barclay Goodrowu02bcs spectacular series-clinching goal, the hockey world was abuzz about the circumstances of the Sharks’ unbelievable, unexpected and unprecedented comeback.

The argument: Did Cody Eakin deserve a five-minute penalty? No doubt Eakin cross-checked Joe Pavelski off the draw, causing Joe to awkwardly tumble into Paul Statsny and crash violently head first to the ice. But was it really a major?

A referee is obligated to take the injury into account when assessing a penalty. In the NHL Rulebook it states:

59.3 Major Penalty – A major penalty, at the discretion of the referee based on the severity of the contact, shall be imposed on a player who “cross checks” an opponent (see 59.