Back to the Washington Capitals Newsfeed

Comparing This Capitals Team To Presidents’ Trophy Winning Capitals Teams

We all know what the Presidents’ Trophy is. But just in case we have some new fans reading this, the Presidents’ Trophy is the award given to the NHL team who has the most points at the end of the season.

The Washington Capitals have won this award three times. The first time was in 2009-10, then they won it in back to back seasons in 2015-17. It’s a somewhat meaningless trophy. The only thing it really gives you is home ice throughout the playoffs. Other than that, all it gives you is bragging rights and if you don’t win the Stanley Cup that season people will call that season a failure.