Back to the UTEP Miners Newsfeed

El Pasoans Kayla Thornton, Brian Young part of 2019 UTEP Hall of Fame class

UTEP introduces athletic director Jim Senter Wochit

El Pasoans Kayla Thornton and Brian Young are part of a five-person class to the UTEP Athletic Hall of Fame, along with track's Hans Hoglund, basketball's Stefon Jackson and football's Tony Perea.

This is the 17th induction class of the UTEP Athletics Hall of Fame.

The 2019 Hall of Famers will be honored in the induction ceremony on Sept. 20 in the Larry K. Durham Sports Center, and at the UTEP versus Nevada football game on Sept. 21.

The Irvin High School grad Thornton, currently a starting forward for the Dallas Wings of the WNBA, was the star player for the Miners when they were the runner-ups in the 2014 WNIT and was also an All-Conference USA selection on their 2012 C-USA championship and NCAA tournament team.