Back to the Toronto FC Newsfeed

8 potential matchups that could spice up the 2020 Canadian Championship

After the Montreal Impact beat Toronto FC in last year’s Canadian Championship final, Waking the Red’s Mitchell Tierney described the 2019 edition of the tournament as “the best yet”.

The bracket for the 2020 edition of the tournament was only revealed on Wednesday afternoon, but it already has the potential to be even better.

After the Ottawa Fury folded recently, there’s only 12 teams this year — the three MLS teams (Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver), the seven Canadian Premier League teams (Pacific, FC Edmonton, Cavalry, Valour, York9, Forge and HFX Wanderers), as well as Premier Ligue du Quebec (PLSQ) champions AS Blainville and League1 Ontario winners Masters Futbol Academy.