Back to the Top News Newsfeed

Silver Slugger Award Winners: Mike Trout Takes Home Honor for 7th Time

The 2019 American League and National League Silver Slugger Award winners were announced Thursday, rewarding the best hitters at their respective positions. Mike Trout took home the award for the seventh time in his eight big-league seasons.

The selections are voted on by major league coaches and managers, and are based on a combination of offensive stats in addition to the managers’ and coaches’ views of a player’s overall offensive value.

The full list of winners is as followed:

American League:

Catcher: Mitch Garver, Twins

First Base: Carlos Santana, Indians

Second Base: DJ LeMahieu, Yankees

Third Base: Alex Bregman, Astros

Shortstop: Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox

Outfield: Mookie Betts, Red Sox; George Springer, Astros; Mike Trout, Angels

Designated Hitter: Nelson Cruz, Twins

National League:

Catcher: J.