Back to the Texas Longhorns Newsfeed

Football names 2019 captains

AUSTIN, Texas – After a team vote, The University of Texas Football program announced Tuesday that QB Sam Ehlinger, WR Collin Johnson, DB Brandon Jones, DE Malcolm Roach and OL Zach Shackelford will serve as the Longhorns' 2019 team captains.

The Texas program has annually named one or more team captains since the program's inception in 1893. Five captains have been selected in each of Tom Herman's three seasons as head coach, and 2019 marks the second time during his tenure that all five are first-time selections (2017).