Back to the St Louis Cardinals Newsfeed

Flaherty will be among those honored at baseball writers' dinner

Cardinals righthander Jack Flaherty, whose remarkable second half earned him Cy Young Award consideration, will be among those honored on Sunday, Jan. 19 at the 62nd annual St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner. It takes place at the Marriott Grand Hotel.

Flaherty will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award as the St. Louis baseball man of the year. Other current Cardinals to be honored are second baseman Kolten Wong, rookie pitchers Dakota Hudson and Giovanny Gallegos, first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and manager Mike Shildt. Wong will be presented his first Gold Glove and Shildt will receive his National League manager of the year award, as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America.