Back to the Oregon Ducks Newsfeed

Ionescu Named Wade Trophy Finalist

EUGENE, Ore. – Reigning Wade Trophy winner Sabrina Ionescu has once again been named a finalist for the prestigious national player of the year award, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced on Thursday morning.

Ionescu is one of four finalists for the honor along with Dana Evans (Louisville), Tyasha Harris (South Carolina) and Aari McDonald (Arizona). The WBCA will announce the winner of the 2020 Wade Trophy on April 2.

Ionescu is looking to join Nancy Lieberman (1979, 1980), Seimone Augustus (2005, 2006), Brittney Griner (2012, 2013), and Breanna Stewart (2015, 2016) as a two-time winner of the Wade Trophy.