Back to the Oklahoma Sooners Newsfeed

Spencer Rattler named to Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2020

Nov 21, 2020; Norman, Oklahoma, USA; Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Spencer Rattler (7) throws during the first half against the Oklahoma State Cowboys at Gaylord Family-Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma redshirt freshman quarterback Spencer Rattler is one of 35 candidates being considered for the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award.

Rattler is part of the Davey O’Brien Quarterback Class of 2020 announced this week by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. The Davey O’Brien Award is bestowed annually to the player deemed to be the best NCAA quarterback.

The Sooner quarterback, in his first season as the OU starter, is one of four freshman who are being considered for the prestigious national award and one of three Big 12 quarterbacks, joining Sam Ehlinger of Texas and Brock Purdy of Iowa State.