Back to the Northern Iowa Panthers Newsfeed

West Sioux’s Allard, Lisbon’s Happel both pursuing wrestling history in 2019-20

Iowa's best high school wrestlers for the 2019-20 season: Adam Allard, Drake Ayala, Gabe Christenson, Cody Fisher, Cael Happel, Griffin Liddle, Caleb Rathjen, Cullan Schriever. Cody Goodwin,

The Iowa high school wrestling record book has a special place reserved for four-time state champions.

Britt’s Bob Steenlage was the first, winning four from 1959-62. Emmetsburg’s Jeff Kerber followed 17 years later, winning his fourth in 1979. Five did it in the ’80s, then four more in the ’90s. Another 16 have won four since the turn of the century, making 27 total.

For perspective, the Iowa High School Athletic Association has held the state wrestling tournament since 1926.