Back to the New Mexico Lobos Newsfeed

Mountain West: Call on UNM in-bounds play was incorrect

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The Mountain West Conference said late Saturday that the decisive call was incorrect on the in-bounds play ruled a New Mexico turnover in its 78-71 loss at San Diego State.

Here is the text of the league’s statement:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – With 12.9 seconds remaining in regulation in this evening’s New Mexico at San Diego State game, the official covering the in-bounds play ruled the New Mexico player had not established out-of-bounds status before receiving the ball. The result was a turnover which gave the ball to San Diego State.