Back to the NCAA Newsfeed

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow wins 2019 Heisman Trophy by overwhelming margin


NEW YORK — LSU quarterback Joe Burrow has won the 2019 Heisman Trophy in a landslide rivaling the largest margins in the award's history, cementing his place in program and SEC lore after one of the most impressive seasons by a passer in the history of the sport.

Burrow earned a first-place vote on 841 of 927 ballots, nearing the record of 855 first-place votes set by Southern California running back O.J. Simpson in 1968. He received 41 second-place votes and three third-place votes for a total of 2,608 points.