Back to the NCAA Newsfeed

Joe Burrow Wins 2019 Heisman Trophy, Joins Fraternity of Elite Transfers

LSU's Joe Burrow is your 2019 Heisman winner, and it wasn't even close.

In fact, with 93.8 percent of possible votes, per ESPN's broadcast, it was the most lopsided "race" in Heisman history. The previous record belonged to Ohio State's Troy Smith, who got 91.6 percent of the vote in 2006.

Oklahoma's Jalen Hurts and Ohio State's Justin Fields had spectacular seasons. The former put up numbers virtually indistinguishable from what Kyler Murray accomplished en route to last year's Heisman Trophy. The latter merely scored 50 touchdowns (40 passing, 10 rushing) while throwing just one interception.

In virtually any other season, either one of those quarterbacks would have been the runaway favorite for the sport's most prestigious honor.