New Year's Six Bowl Games Announced

The new playoff system has created a premier set of "New Year's Six" bowls that essentially take the place of the BCS bowls of the past. Two of them are considered the first round of the College Football Playoff (Sugar Bowl and Rose Bowl), with the other four "Access Bowls" having the next highest payouts of any game this postseason.

Here's who will be playing each other on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day:

Allstate Sugar Bowl (National Semifinal)

Thurs., Jan 1, 8:30 p.m. ET

Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, LA

1) Alabama Crimson Tide (12-1, 8-1 in SEC)

4) Ohio State Buckeyes (12-1, 9-0 in Big Ten)

Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual (National Semifinal)

Thurs., Jan 1, 5:00 p.m. ET

Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA

2) Oregon Ducks (12-1, 8-1 in Pac-12)

3) Florida State Seminoles (13-0, 9-0 in ACC)

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (at-large vs. at-large)
Wed., Dec. 31, 12:30 pm ET
Georgia Dome, Atlanta, GA

6) TCU Horned Frogs (11-1, 8-1 in Big 12)

9) Ole Miss Rebels (9-3, 6-3 in SEC)

VIZIO Fiesta Bowl (At-Large vs. At-Large)
University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, AZ
Wed., Dec. 31, 4:00 p.m. ET

10) Arizona Wildcats (10-3, 6-3 in Pac-12)

20) Boise State Broncos (11-2, 8-1 in MWC)

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic
AT&T Stadium, Arlington, TX
Thu., Jan. 1, 12:30 p.m. ET

5) Baylor Bears (11-1, 8-1 in Big 12)

8 ) Michigan State Spartans (10-2, 7-1 in Big Ten)

Capital One Orange Bowl

Sun Life Stadium, Miami, FL

Wed., Dec. 31, 8:00 p.m ET

 7) Mississippi State Bulldogs (10-2, 6-2 in SEC)

12) Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets (10-3, 6-3 in SEC)

Back to the NCAA Newsfeed