Rockets' Mike D'Antoni Wins NBA Coach Of The Year Over Erik Spoelstra And Gregg Popovich

For the second time in his career, Mike D'Antoni is the NBA Coach of the Year. The Houston Rockets coach won the award, beating out Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra and Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs in the process.

D'Antoni last won the award in 2005, when he coached the Phoenix Suns. This year, he led the Rockets to a 55-27 record, good enough for third in the Western Conference. Last season, the Rockets went just 41-41. 

Popovich is almost always a finalist for NBA Coach of the Year. He's won the award three times in the past, most recently in 2014. 

The Heat were one of the worst teams early in the season and seem destined to end up with a high lottery pick. But, Spoelstra managed to turn the team around and they nearly made the playoffs. Miami finished with a 41-41 record, missing out on a playoff spot due to a tiebreaker with the Bulls. 

Connect With Chat Sports:
Chat Sports Content Jobs on Zip Recruiter
Chat Sports on Flickr
Chat Sports on Vimeo

Follow along with all the NBA awards here.

Check out our NBA page for all the latest NBA News or download the Chat Sports App!

Back to the NBA Newsfeed

Related Topics: NBA Coach Of The Year, Erik Spoelstra, Gregg Popovich, Mike D'Antoni, NBA Awards, 2017 NBA Awards