Bucks Guard Malcolm Brogdon Wins NBA Rookie Of The Year Over Joel Embiid And Dario Saric

Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon is the 2016-17 NBA Rookie of the Year. The NBA announced that Brogdon won the award Monday at the NBA Awards show, beating out a pair of Philadelphia 76ers in Dario Saric and Joel Embiid. 

Brogdon is the first non-first round pick to win rookie of the year in 60 years. He was a second round pick (No. 36 overall) from Virginia in the 2016 NBA Draft. 

Brogdon started 28 games this year and played in 75. He averaged 10.2 points, 4.2 assists, 2.8 rebounds and 1.1 assists per game. He also shot 40.4 percent from 3-point range and was a quality defender on a playoff team.

Embiid only played in 31 games this year, which cost him Rookie of the Year honors despite putting up 20.2 points per game. Saric averaged 12.8 points and 6.3 rebounds per game. 

Connect With Chat Sports:
Chat Sports Content Jobs on Zip Recruiter
Chat Sports on Flickr
Chat Sports on Vimeo

Follow along with all the NBA awards here.

Check out our NBA page for all the latest NBA News or download the Chat Sports App!

Back to the NBA Newsfeed

Related Topics: NBA Rookie Of The Year, Dario Saric, Malcolm Brogdon, NBA Awards, 2017 NBA Awards, Joel Embiid