Back to the Navy Midshipmen Newsfeed

Pittsburgh Steelers' T.J. Watt wins NFL Defensive Player of Year; Ja'Marr Chase, Micah Parsons top rookies

Tying the NFL's single-season sack record earned Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt the league's Defensive Player of the Year award.

His brother, J.J. Watt -- a three-time defensive player of the year himself -- presented him with the award, which was the first one announced at Thursday's NFL Honors awards show in Los Angeles.

Los Angeles Rams receiver Cooper Kupp won Offensive Player of the Year after topping the league in receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns.

Cincinnati Bengals receiver Ja'Marr Chase was named Offensive Rookie of the Year, while Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons won Defensive Rookie of the Year.