The New York State Athletic Commission has reversed its heavy-handed stance on boxer Ivan Redkach’s mid-fight bite of Danny Garcia.
Initially, Redkach was given an indefinite suspension (minimum one-year), a fine of $10,000, and his entire purse was taken away by the commission after video replay showed him taking a small bite on Garcia’s shoulder in round eight. The referee did not see this infraction and thus no point was taken away.
On the surface, and given the severity of an admittedly terrible thing to do, this seemed like an extreme response. Following a back-and-forth between Team Redkach and the NYSAC, the latter has concurred and significantly reduced the punishment.