Back to the MLB Newsfeed

MLB Defensive Player of the Year 2019 Awards: AL and NL Winners and Reaction

On the heels of Major League Baseball announcing the 2019 Gold Glove winners, Cleveland Indians catcher Roberto Perez capped off a season of defensive excellence by being named the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year.

The American League champion Houston Astros were honored with the Defensive Team of the Year award for the first time.

Here are all the winners that are determined from a formula that includes traditional and advanced defensive metrics, via

2019 MLB Defensive Player of the Year Winners

Catcher: Roberto Perez, Cleveland Indians

First Base: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

Second Base: Kolten Wong, St.