MLB News: 2014 Gold Glove Winners Announced

The 2014 Gold Glove Award Winners were announced Tuesday evening. The award, which is voted on by the managers and coaches in each league, is given to the highest vote-getter at each defensive position.

The sabermetrics category was added in 2013, which factors in as the final fourth of the vote after the managers/coaches votes.

Here's a rundown of each winner:

American League

Catcher: Salvador Perez, Royals

First Base: Eric Hosmer, Royals

Second Base: Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox

Third Base: Kyle Seager, Mariners

Shortstop: J.J. Hardy, Orioles

Left Field: Alex Gordon, Royals

Center Field: Adam Jones, Orioles

Right Field: Nick Markakis, Orioles

Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel, Astros

As you can see, the Royals and Orioles dominated the voting in the American League as each boasted three winners in total.

National League

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals

First Base: Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers

Second Base: DJ LeMahieu, Rockies

Third Base: Nolan Arenado, Rockies

Shortstop: Andrelton Simmons, Braves

Left Field: Christian Yelich, Marlins

Center Field: Juan Lagares, Mets

Right Field: Jason Heyward, Braves

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Dodgers

The Rockies, Braves and Dodgers each had multiple winners in the National League, though no team finished with three awards.

Back to the MLB Newsfeed