With an early touchdown within reach, the referees called a red zone catch by Marcedes Lewis back on an illegal formation. But was it really a penalty?
In the middle of the second quarter, with the Jacksonville Jaguars down 10-0 to the New England Patriots, Jacksonville was putting together a decent drive. A Marcedes Lewis catch-and-juke gave the Jaguars a first-and-goal on the 3-yard line and a close game was within reach.
But an illegal formation penalty was called that brought them back.
Here's the pre-snap formation below:
whack illegal formation call negated a first down in the redzone pic.