Which Indian Teams Have Been A Dominant Force Domestically In The Past Decade?

India and cricket have a long and storied history. The sport was brought over from England during the age of colonialism, and it soon grew to become one of the most popular sports in India. Even today, the popularity of the game has not veined. If anything, it has grown even further. Today, cricket is, by far, India’s most popular and beloved sport. Indian teams are some of the best performing cricketers in the world, and the country’s national team is one of the best in the world (ranked 3rd overall).

As far as top-tier cricket is concerned, the most prestigious cricket competition in India is the Ranji Trophy, named for Ranjitsinhji, a historic Indian nobleman and cricketer. The Ranji is one of India’s biggest sporting events and the pinnacle of sports betting in India. All of the best cricket betting sites in India report that the Ranji Trophy is, by far, the most popular national cricket competition in terms of bets placed.

The 2010s were fantastic years for Indian cricket. The national team absolutely dominated the international cricket scene, winning the 2011 World Cup, the 2013 Champion’s Trophy, and 500 ODI victories. But, in this article, we are going to take a look at the teams that dominate the national scene.

Starting out this list, we have the “big brother” of Indian cricket. Mumbai is, in the eyes of many, the greatest Indian cricket team of all time. Whether you agree or not, the one thing that can’t be denied is that they are the most successful, with over 40 titles won throughout their entire career. Mumbai has also competed internationally, at the Irani Cup, where they have won 14 titles, although none of them in the past decade.

Looking at their track record in the past decade, they have won three Ranji Trophy titles. The first one in 2009/10, then another in 2012/13, and their most recent one in 2015/16. They were also the runner-up the following season.

Many believe that this decade belonged to Karnataka. And who can blame them? With 8 wins over three different Trophies, the Karnataka team have proven that they are not to be taken lightly. At the very start of the decade, they came out strong, reaching second place in the 2009/10 Ranji Trophy, where they lost against Mumbai in the last game.

But, in 2013/14 and in 2014/15, led by team captain Vinay Kumar, the team absolutely dominated the Ranji, taking the trophy in both seasons. If that wasn’t enough, the team also performed wonderfully at the Irani Cup, which they also won consecutively during those seasons.

Those weren’t the only tournaments they won during the years between 2013 – 2015. In the two seasons, they also competed in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in which they have gotten four wins in the past decade. With so many wins, it is safe to say that, in the elapsed ten years, Karnataka has definitely been the dominant team in Indian cricket.

The Rajasthan team started this season off strong, with two consecutive wins in the Ranji Trophy (2010/11 and 2011/12). However, their golden era did not last long, as they never quite reached the lofty heights of those two seasons during the rest of the decade. Still, they are a skilled team, with some great players, and definitely one to look out for in the future.

Saurashtra are definitely a team to look out for. While not quite as successful as the aforementioned teams, we would be remised not to mention the last champions of the Ranji Trophy. The 2019/20 Ranji saw Saurashtra finally become champions, after coming in second against teams like Mumbai and Vidarbha.

Subscribe to Chat Sports on YouTube for more sports coverage!

Back to the National Teams Newsfeed