Back to the Golf Newsfeed

Sam Burns denied casual water relief, double-bogeys 15 at U.S. Open

Related Topics: Sam Burns

OAKMONT, Pa. -- Despite appealing to two USGA rules officials, Sam Burns was denied water relief on the 15th hole during the championship round of the U.S. Open on Sunday.

Burns, who entered the day in sole possession of the lead and finished tied for seventh at 4-over, was one stroke off the lead as he teed off on 15. The shot splashed down into the right side of the rolling fairway, coming to a rest in the lowest part, where water from the afternoon's torrential rains further soaked Oakmont's already saturated turf.

Burns examined the lie and believed he should be granted relief from casual water, as his practice swings sent sprays of water off his club.