Back to the Golf Newsfeed

McIlroy tops Koepka for player of the year

Rory McIlroy beat Brooks Koepka in the final round of the 2018-19 PGA Tour season, shooting 66 over the final 18 holes to win a $15 million bonus at the Tour Championship at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta in August.

After a somewhat surprising vote by PGA Tour members, McIlroy also edged Koepka for PGA Tour Player of the Year honors on Wednesday. It is the third time McIlroy has won the Jack Nicklaus Award.

"I couldn't be more proud of what I achieved this year," McIlroy said. "I wanted to try to bring my best every single week that I played, and I feel like I did that to the best of my ability.