Back to the Conference USA Newsfeed

Conference USA announces 2019 preseason awards

With just 45 days remaining until FIU and UAB kick off Conference USA’s season on August 29th, the offseason is nearly in the rear view mirror. Today the conference brass released this season’s pre-season awards, bringing us one step closer to kickoff.

Voted on by the conference’s head coaches, there are few surprises on the award winner list or all-conference team.

The illustrious North Texas quarterback Mason Fine was pegged as C-USA Offensive Player of the Year. Fine enters the 2019 season with 9,417 passing yards, the national leader in active career passing yards.

Florida International’s Sage Lewis moved positions from safety to linebacker last year and responded to the challenge so well that he was named C-USA Defensive Player of the Year.