Back to the Columbus Crew Newsfeed

Crew 2 open 2023 with penalty kick win at New York Red Bull II

Without a majority of the roster from last season’s championship-winning team, including the reigning MLS NEXT Pro Most Valuable Player and Golden Boot winner Jacen Russell-Rowe, the league’s Goalkeeper of the Year in Patrick Schulte, and the joint assist leader in Mohamed Farsi, among many others, Columbus Crew 2 went on the road to begin the 2023 season and defeated New York Red Bulls II in penalty kicks. The game was tied 1-1 at the end of regulation with New York scoring the opener in the seventh minute before fullback Abdi Mohamed equalized in the fourth minute of second half stoppage time.