Back to the Colorado Rockies Newsfeed

Two Colorado Rockies affiliates and Eight MiLB teams in the Mountain Time Zone could soon be a thing of the past

A few weeks ago, it was reported that Major League Baseball may soon be changing the way that Minor League Baseball could function by eliminating teams. Now, we know who teams could possibly be.

For the Colorado Rockies, two of the potential 42 teams that could be dissolved are their current minor league affiliates. They are the Advanced Single-A Lancaster JetHawks and their Advanced Rookie-ball affiliate, the Grand Junction Rockies.

Also among the 42 potential teams would be the entire Pioneer League. Including Grand Junction, other teams on the chopping block would include:

  • The Billings (Montana) Mustangs (Reds affiliate)
  • The Great Falls (Montana) Voyagers (White Sox affiliate)
  • The Idaho Falls Chukars (Royals affiliate)
  • The Missoula (Montana) Paddleheads (D’backs affiliate)
  • The Orem (Utah) Owlz (Angels affiliate)
  • The Rocky Mountain (Colorado Springs) Vibes (Brewers affiliate)
  • The Ogden (Utah) Raptors (Dodgers affiliate

As you may notice, all eight of those teams are in the Mountain Time Zone.