Back to the Carolina Panthers Newsfeed

Cam Newton named Panthers’ Ed Block Courage Award winner

Carolina Panthers players voted quarterback Cam Newton as the team’s 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winner, the team announced Tuesday.

The award, given annually to one player from each NFL team, is given to a player that shows courage on and off the field.

Newton, who will likely be named the NFL’s MVP in less than three weeks, is coming off a 2014 season where he had offseason ankle surgery, cracked his ribs in the preseason and then suffered a back injury in a car accident late in the season.

This year he’s produced 45 touchdowns and finished with a career-high 99.