Back to the Calgary Flames Newsfeed

Zach Fischer and D’Artagnan Joly probably won’t be signed

The 2019 NHL Draft is looming and teams are trying to square off their unfinished business from prior drafts. The Calgary Flames have until June 1 to sign 2017 picks Zach Fischer and D’Artagnan Joly. Based on the team’s patterns of behaviour, it doesn’t seem likely that either player will be signed.

The Flames’ history with signing their own picks is arguably the best indicator of how general manager Brad Treliving and his staff tend to operate in this area.

They don’t sign everyone

Signed Not Signed
2012 Patrick Sieloff
Brett Kulak
Ryan Culkin
Jon Gillies
Mark Jankowski
Coda Gordon
Matthew Deblouw
2013 Sean Monahan
Emile Poirier
Morgan Klimchuk
Keegan Kanzig
Eric Roy
Tim Harrison
John Gilmour
Rushan Rafikov
2014 Sam Bennett
Mason McDonald
Hunter Smith
Austin Carroll
Brandon Hickey**
Adam Ollas Mattsson
2015 Rasmus Andersson
Oliver Kylington
Andrew Mangiapane
Pavel Karnaukhov
Riley Bruce
2016 Matthew Tkachuk
Tyler Parsons
Dillon Dube
Matthew Phillips
Linus Lindstrom*
Mitchell Mattson*
Eetu Tuulola*
Adam Fox**
Stepan Falkovsky
2017 Juuso Valimaki
Adam Ruzicka
Zach Fischer
D’Artagnan Joly
Filip Sveningsson*
2018 Dmitry Zavgorodniy
Martin Pospisil
Demetrious Koumontzis*
Milos Roman*
Emilio Pettersen*

Before we dig in, a quick note: players marked with a single asterisk the Flames still hold the rights to – they’re mostly Europeans and college players – while those marked with two were traded.