Back to the Burnley Clarets Newsfeed

MARK CLATTENBURG: Why James Tarkowski's high foot on Sean Longstaff WASN'T a penalty - the call was subjective with the Burnley man not aware of what was behind him

James Tarkowski's foot made contact with Sean Longstaff's head.

There is no question about that, so you can make an argument for a penalty for Newcastle.

But it is clear from the replays that Tarkowski did not know Longstaff was behind him when he made his clearance.

James Tarkowski's high foot on Sean Longstaff wasn't a penalty but the call was subjective

He cleared the ball and Longstaff threw his head in.

It was a subjective call.

Referee Anthony Taylor did not see it as a foul in real time, and VAR Stuart Attwell backed his on-field official in deciding Tarkowski should not be punished for the follow-through of his clearance.