Back to the Bowling Green Falcons Newsfeed

Anders Named to the Bednarik Award Preseason Watch List

BOWLING GREEN, Ohio – Bowling Green State University inside linebacker Darren Anders been named to the 2022 Bednarik Award Preseason Watch List, announced the Maxwell Club on Monday (Aug. 1). He is one of five players from the MAC on the list of 90 college football players. The Maxwell Club presents the award annually to the nation's best defensive player.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1994 and is named in honor of Chuck "Concrete Charlie" Bednarik who was an All-American player at the University of Pennsylvania and later a multiple year All-Pro linebacker and center for the Philadelphia Eagles.