Back to the Big East Newsfeed

Seton Hall's Powell, Marquette's Howard Named AP All-America First Team

NEW YORK – Senior guards Myles Powell of Seton Hall and Markus Howard of Marquette have been named to the Associated Press All-America First Team. Creighton’s Marcus Zegarowski and Villanova’s Saddiq Bey were named AP Honorable Mention. The BIG EAST has two players on the AP First Team for the first time since 2009-10 when Villanova’s Scottie Reynolds and Syracuse’s Wes Johnson were named.

Earlier this month, Powell was named BIG EAST Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s head coaches. The senior led the Pirates to a share of the BIG EAST regular-season crown and ranked second in the league in scoring with a 21.