SEC Says Auburn Should've Been Flagged On Final Play Against South Carolina

The Southeastern Conference says that South Carolina should've had a second chance at a game-tying Hail Mary against Auburn on Saturday night.

The Gamecocks had gotten in position for a Hail Mary with seven seconds left in the 4th quarter, when Auburn subbed in big wide receiver D'haquille Williams to help knock the ball down. However, defensive tackle Montravius Adams remained on the field.

Why was this a problem? Well, both players wear No. 1 on their jersey - and you're not allowed to have two players with the same number on the field at the same time.

SEC spokesman Chuck Dunlap confirmed that the Tigers should've been accessed a 5-yard penalty on the play, which would have given South Carolina another chance to tie the game.

Back to the Auburn Tigers Newsfeed