Braves Season Record With A New Manager; A Look Inside Braves History

The Atlanta Braves teams of the 1990’s and 2000’s are known for their winning. Having won 14 straight division titles and a World Series in 1995, young braves fans cannot recall the losing times of the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s. Over the past five decades, the Braves have had 10 new managers at the beginning of the season. Only two of those seasons, 1982 with Joe Torre as manager, and 1991 with Bobby Cox in his second stint as Braves Manager, have been winning seasons. Torre took the braves to 89-73 in 1982 and in 1991, Cox took the Braves to 94-69.



Here’s a look at the coach’s records:


1968 Lum Harris 81-81

1973 Eddie Mathews 76-85

1975 Clyde King/Connie Ryan 67-94

1976 Dave Bristol 70-92

1978 Bobby Cox 69-93

1982 Joe Torre 89-73

1985 Eddie Haas/Bobby Wine 66-96

1986 Chuck Tanner 72-89

1989 Russ Nixon 63-97

1991 Bobby Cox 94-69

2011 Fredi Gonzalez


Since 1966, the Braves have had a new manager take over a team 10 times. In those 10 first seasons, the Braves have averaged only 74.7 wins. 2011 marks the first time since 1991 the Atlanta Braves have a manager other than Bobby Cox. The 11th new manager in Atlanta Braves history, Fredi Gonzalez, was hand picked by Cox to be his successor. As of May 23rd, 2011, he has the Braves sitting in third place at 26-23 behind the Phillies and Marlins. For all the Braves fans out there, let’s hope Gonzalez can increase the Braves’ first season with a new manager winning percentage, and take the Braves back to the top of the division, and hopefully all of baseball.


Stats courtesy of

Back to the Atlanta Braves Newsfeed