Back to the American Athletic Newsfeed

Tulsa's Collins Named as Nagurski Trophy Finalist

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – Five finalists for the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy representing five conferences were named Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

These are the candidates for the award honoring college football's national defensive player of the year. Each of the five finalists – two linebackers, a defensive end, a defensive tackle and a cornerback – plays for a nationally-ranked team, four of which will play in their conference championship games.

In alphabetical order, the finalists are Tulsa linebacker Zaven Collins, Coastal Carolina defensive end Tarron Jackson, Iowa defensive tackle Daviyon Nixon, Notre Dame linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and Alabama cornerback Patrick Surtain II.