Back to the American Athletic Newsfeed

Three American Teams To Play in 2019 NCAA Division I Softball Championship


PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The American Athletic Conference saw three teams selected to the 2019 NCAA Division I Softball Championship on Sunday night, as USF, Houston and Tulsa were among the 64 teams to make the field.

USF was awarded The American’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship after the 2019 American Softball Championship was unable to be completed due to a continuous pattern of inclement weather in the Houston area over the weekend. Houston and Tulsa received two of the 32 available at-large bids.

Regional play, consisting of 64 teams squaring off in double-elimination format at four-team sites, will kick off to open the NCAA Championship this coming weekend.