Back to the American Athletic Newsfeed

Four From The American On Mackey Award Watch List

Four tight ends from the American Athletic Conference are among the early candidates for the 2019 John Mackey Award, which is presented to the top tight end in football.

The preseason candidates include USF's Mitchell Wilcox, who was a first-team all-conference selection last season, and Cincinnati's Josiah Deguara, who was named to The American's second team. They are joined by Joey Magnifico of Memphis and Kenny Yeboah of Temple.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2019 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2019 and then presented live on December 12, 2019 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.